top of page

Oldest commemoration in the State of Michael Collins & Arthur Griffith.

The 97th annual commemoration was led by Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Josepha Madigan, chairman of the Collins/Griffith Commemoration Society William Lavelle, and chairman of the Glasnevin Trust John Green.

Ms Madigan said it was important to continue to remember the contributions made by Collins and Griffith on the path to independence.

“2019 marks the centenary of the foundation of Dail Eireann, one of the most significant events in the Decade of Centenaries,” she said.

“We recall the immense contribution that both men made as members of the Dail and the cabinet.

Remembering Michael Collins and Arthur Griffith

Arthur Griffith (1872-1922) was the politician and journalist who founded and later led the political party Sinn Féin. He served as President of Dáil Éireann from January to August 1922, and was head of the Irish delegation at the negotiations in London that led to the Anglo-Irish Treaty of 1921.

Michael Collins (1890-1922) was an Irish revolutionary leader, Minister for Finance and TD in the first Dáil of 1919, Director of Intelligence of the IRA, and member of the Irish delegation during the Anglo-Irish Treaty negotiations.

Subsequently, in early 1922 he became both Chairman of the Provisional Government and Commander-in-chief of the National Army.

He was shot and killed on 22 August 1922 in an ambush at Béal na Bláth, in west Cork.



bottom of page